Portland Columbia Symphony’s own Michael Charles Smith, Mike Romanaggi, and Craig Johnston team up with a few friends to perform an array of repertoire arranged and composed for percussion ensemble in this digital concert premiere, Friday, March 26, 2021 at 7 pm. See for yourself the many – and sometimes surprising – sides of percussion!

PCSO PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE: Michael Charles Smith, solo marimba; Mike Romanaggi, Craig Johnston, Nick Rose, Isaac Rains, Jim Casella, and Brian Gardener, percussion.

Lacrimosa / W.A. Mozart, arr. Francis/Smith
Performed with special guest students of Michael Charles Smith: William Francis, Reece Griffith, Colin Carmichael, Evan Gunter, marimba.

“Water” Movement #1 / Michael Charles Smith
Paintings by Kenton Nelson. Filmed and edited in collaboration with Erwin Darmali.

“Nimrod” from Enigma Variations / Edward Elgar, arr. Smith

Concerto No. 1 for Marimba and Percussion Ensemble / Ney Rosauro (b. 1952)
I. Saudação (Greetings)
II. Lamento (Lament)
III. Dança (Dance)
IV. Despedida (Farewell)

Film and audio mastering by Travis Brown, Ian Mackintosh, and Aileen Sheedy.